Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

On working diligently. . .

Leave a comment

These very convicting quotes were on the Girl Talk blog.  I printed them up in big letters so I could see them often.  These are things I struggle with, but thankfully God has been growing me in self-discipline over the last several years.  I have not arrived, but as I look back I can be thankful for what God has already done. 

“‘Let us redeem the time.’  Desultory working, fitful planning, irregular reading, ill-assorted hours, perfunctory or unpunctual execution of business, hurry and bustle, loitering, and unreadiness, these, and such like, are the things which take out the whole pith and power from life, which hinder holiness, and which eat like a canker into our moral being.”  Horatius Bonar

(Desultory means: marked by a lack of definite plan or regularity or purpose, jumping from one thing to another.)

“No unwelcome tasks become any less unwelcome by putting them off till tomorrow.  It is only when they are behind us, and done, that we begin to find that there is a sweetness to be tasted afterwards, and that the remembrance of unwelcome duties unhesitatingly done is welcome and pleasant.  Accomplished, they are full of blessing, and there is a smile on their faces as they leave us.  Undone, they stand threatening and disturbing our tranquility, and hindering our communion with God.  If there be lying before you any bit of work from which you shrink, go straight up to it, and do it at once.  The only way to get rid of it is to do it.”  Alexander Maclaren

 I used to live daily in the negative from that quote, but now by God’s grace I live mostly in the positive from it.  Mr. Maclaren describes both so accurately, I wonder if he had personal experience with both too.

I believe I have Celiac Disease (seems to run in my family), and as a result I have battled chronic fatigue all my life, among other things.  I also have ADHD (Matthew was just diagnosed with this as well–also seems to run in the family!).  Between the two things, and my own sinful laziness, God has had a lot of work to do on me!!  But through all this, He has helped me learn to work hard and persevere even when I feel terrible.  He has helped me develop a daily routine that keeps things in order.  And He has taught me to be able to look at the mountain of chores and say, “It’s not so bad.  I can do this!”  Always before I would get so overwhelmed and I wouldn’t do it.  So, if God can help me, I know He can help you as well!  He is so gracious to us.

I am also thankful for my husband who has gently helped me learn some of these things as well.  And he has served me, when I have gotten behind, without complaining.  I also look up to him and admire his diligence and perseverance even when he doesn’t like a task.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

