Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Happy 7th Birthday, Matthew!

2 Comments

matthewtoolbox7bd.jpgmatthewtools7bd.jpgmatthewchessbook7bd.jpgmatthew7bdbook2.jpgmatthew7bdbook.jpgmatthew7bdcupcakes.jpggrandma.jpgdaddylaura.jpglauracoolpic.jpgchristophersarah.jpg

Matthew is 7 today.  He asked me the exact time he was born, and waited until that time minus an hour (because of the different time zone) to say he was 7, today, even though he was so excited to change ages.  He is very literal! 

Last night I picked him up to give him a hug, and he said, “I think this will be the last time you’ll be able to pick me up.  “Why, are you planning to grow a lot tonight?”  I asked him.  “Yes!” he said.  I laughed, “I think I will be able to pick you up for a while, even though you’re going to be 7.”  After we got to the “magic” hour today, we tested out our theories: I can still pick him up. But he insists that he is almost as tall as I am.  It probably won’t take him long to catch up to me, since I am only 5’2″.  But I am glad he’s still my little boy.  These past 7 years have gone by quite fast enough. 

We are thankful Matthew is a part of our family.  When we were expecting him, Rob “just knew” that the baby was a boy.  We chose the name Matthew Thomas.  It even seemed that God gave us that name, and we longed to hold this Matthew Thomas in our arms.  Matthew means Gift of God.  Since he was first born he has been a blessing used by God to bring much sanctification into our lives.  We know that God has a purpose for him on this earth, because He has rescued him from death many times.  We pray daily for him, that he will make God His treasure, and that God will use him for His glory.  That God would raise him (and all our children) up to be like Daniel, faithful to the Lord from the time of his youth to the time of his death.  Walking neither to the left nor to the right, but following Christ with single-minded purpose.  God is able to do this!  Praise Him.

Happy Birthday, Matthew.  We love you more each day. 

Excuse me while I go cry. 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Happy 7th Birthday, Matthew!

  1. You have expressed your love for Matthew so well and I know how deeply you care for him! In reading your blog, I am reminded of how much more God loves Matthew! He will be faithful to complete the good work he has began. I pray God will capture Matthew’s heart and Matthew will see how much Christ loves him . . . . so much more than even Mommy does!
    Happy Birthday Matthew! Love you sweetie!

  2. Happy Birthday Matthew! 🙂
    Cassie- something my children look forward to is the birth minute kiss. I kiss each of them at the moment they were born…eary since they were both c-sections…but what better way to start your birthday than with a kiss from your mother!? God is so good to give us children. What a blessing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

