Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

The call to servanthood

Leave a comment

This passage, from A Chance to Die by Elizabeth Elliot, was challenging to me:

 “The women of the band (who traveled around sharing the gospel with Indian women) were learning that if the Lord of glory took a towel and knelt on the floor to wash the dusty feet of His disciples (the job of the lowest slave in an Eastern household), then no work, even the relentless and often messy routine of caring for squalling babies, is demeaning.  To offer it up to God transforms it into a holy task

‘Could it be right,’ Amy had asked, ‘to turn from so much that might be of profit and become just nursemaids?’  The answer was yes.  It is not the business of the servant to decide which work is great, which is small, which is important or unimportant–he is not greater than his master.

‘If by doing some work which the undiscerning consider ‘not spiritual work’ I can best help others, and I inwardly rebel, thinking it is the spiritual for which I crave, when in truth it is the interesting and exciting, then I know nothing of calvary love,’ Amy wrote after many years of such “unspiritual work.” 

p 182-183 of a Chance To Die

——-

Even though I know in my heart that what Amy learned is true, and I have made it my occupation to love my husband and children and be a keeper in my home, I often crave the interesting and the exciting.  I am so thankful for this reminder.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

