Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

I am grateful

Leave a comment

I look into my heart, both past and present

and am disgusted by what I see.

The pride, the arrogance,

the selfishness and filth

  all make me shudder.

If I respond in disbelief that I could be this way,

and wonder angrily why I haven’t changed

to what I’d like to be–

 that reveals pride, deep rooted, springing up.

Jesus did not die for me because I am or was already perfect.

He died for me–a wretched sinner. 

He did not come to save the righteous

but the unrighteous. 

There was no good in me, to recommend me to Himself.

Sin pervaded every part.

So I cry, Lord, have mercy on me, a sinner!

Thank You for saving me. 

I know that Your death did satisfy the holy and just

wrath of God against me,

and You have put my sin away as far as the east is from the west.

You do not condemn me, but welcome me as Your child.

I do not have to despair, or wallow in my sin. 

But as I grow closer to You, and see Your holiness,

I grow more apalled at my sin.

It drives me to my knees in humble thankfulness

that You would love and die for me.

Lord, I ask You to continue to burn away the dross.

Make me like You. 

I want to please You and glorify Your name.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

