Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Daily blessings

1 Comment

Sometimes I wonder if the children are paying attention when I read the long lists of names in the Old Testament.  We are reading through Numbers right now, and I read the lists anyway, because God put them there for a reason and I do not want the children to think that any part of the Bible is unimportant.

I was reading a list of names yesterday, and I got to, “Manasseh, son of_____?” and then I waited to see if anyone knew whose son Manasseh was.  Right away, Sarah called out, “Jopheph!”  It was so cute, but of course she meant Joseph, and I could not believe she knew that.  It encouraged me to keep on reading.

____________

We were talking in the car last night, and I said something about a “fancy maneuver”.  Christopher asked, “What’s fancy manure?”  He knows what manure is, so he was surprised that it could be fancy.

____________

This morning Matthew said, “I think I am starting to want to obey God, but I can’t.”  It reminded me of when I was a child, and I was saved because I was trying to obey God and be a good big sister, and it wasn’t working.  I could not be good on my own.  And I called on the Lord to forgive me and save me, and rule my life.  So I rejoice to hear these words from Matthew.  In God’s time, I believe he will cry out, “Lord, have mercy on me a sinner.” 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Daily blessings

  1. ah what a timely reminder! won’t it be a GREAT day when our children CRY out to God!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

