Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Blessings abounding

Leave a comment

I got a new compact Bible today, for my purse, to replace the one that was stolen with my old purse.  As I opened it and read it I was reminded of how blessed we are to have such easy access to God’s word.  In our home we have several copies of the Bible in various versions.  I thought about all the people in the world who cannot get a Bible either because they do not have one in their own language, or because it is illegal to own a Bible.  And then I remembered that at one time it was illegal for English speaking people to own a copy of the Bible in English, and that people like William Tyndale were put to death for translating the Bible into English.  Today I tend to take it for granted that I can pick it up and read it whenever I want to.

In The Timetables of History by Grun, I found this note from 1925AD, regarding the cost of Bibles through the centuries:

“A copy of the Bible cost the equivalent of approximately $2000 in the 14th century; in 1455 (Gutenberg), $500; in the 17th centery$100; by 1925 $3.”

Lord, I am grateful for your word; it is a mirror for my soul.  And I am thankful that I can hold a copy in my hands.  There are very, very many who have never read your word.  Put in my heart a craving to know you more and drink the precious water of the word of God.  And cause my heart to be concerned for the ones who do not have your word.  Use me.  Use my family.  Send out your word.  For faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.  Be glorified, Lord Jesus.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

