Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

They’re reading!

1 Comment

The boys and I have been reading Heidi together lately, and we just read the part where Heidi learned to read.  She had told the Grandmamma that she could not learn, but the dear lady convinced her otherwise, and taught her to read.  Suddenly a whole new world opened up to her and she read everything she could get her hands on.

We went to the library yesterday to get some books on the topics we’ve been studying for school, and we got one on the moon.   When we sat down to read it today I asked the boys if they wanted to try.  So they each took turns reading the pages, back and forth, and I only had to help them a little bit.  They were so excited, and Matthew said, “We read it just like Heidi!”

I think we’ll be going back to the library to get more of these easy reader science books. 

I remember being a little kid, sitting on the floor with a book, and having this intense longing to be able to read it.  And then I remember being able to read.  Somehow I have forgotten the process of learning to read, but it must have happened in there somewhere!  So I am very excited for the boys!  The desire to read and communicate is from God Himself, I do believe.  He is the Living Word.  He spoke the world into existence.  He calmed the storm by speaking to it.  Man does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from His mouth.  We are looking forward to the children all being able to read God’s word for themselves. 

Oh, and by the way, Christopher woke me up in the middle of the night to tell me he lost his other loose tooth.  He was so excited he didn’t have to have this one pulled out.  🙂

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “They’re reading!

  1. I LOVE IT! I love to read & can remember reading when I was young and being SO excited about it. I love to see E & B get all excited about reading…especially God’s word! They are just little sponges! AND E now has 4 loose teeth! Only 1 is REALLY loose…the others are just slightly. Thanks for sharing! Exciting times! 🙂

Leave a Reply

