Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Where’s your cheerful heart smile?

2 Comments

When any of my children are displaying an angry or “grumpy” attitude, I ask them where their cheerful heart smile is.  I grew up hearing, “Don’t smile,” in order to get us to smile, but I don’t want to teach my children to disobey me, so I changed it to “Where’s your smile?” 

Frowning and being angry is a choice we make, and so is having a cheerful heart, and smiling.  In order for my children to smile, they have to change their attitude.  A fake smile is pretty obvious.  And there have been times when I have gotten a tongue stuck out at me instead, which indicates the need for discipline!  Usually, just asking them for their smile is enough.  But, if they resist, then we use discipline and try again.  The heart attitude is really what I am after.

This is a great help with two year-olds.  With Laura, I get her to smile, and then I have her say, “Yes, Ma’am,” about whatever it is I was telling her.  She usually obeys cheerfully after this conversation. 

I also make an effort to smile (not a silly smile), and speak kindly to my children, even when I have to correct them.  They are less likely to resist correction when my attitude is right (“A soft answer turns away wrath” Proverbs 15:1).  Many times I fail at this, but God is helping me to grow in this area.  

If you try this, be sure not to tickle your child or make funny faces to get them to smile.  The smile needs to come from a changed heart attitude. 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Where’s your cheerful heart smile?

  1. I love your sentence: “Frowning and being angry is a choice we make, and so is having a cheerful heart, and smiling.” It’s so true, and its a great reminder that its something to always be conscious of in the hearts and attitudes of our children. Have you read ‘Shepherding a Child’s Heart’ by Ted Tripp? He teaches this same concept. You don’t want to see a change in just the behavior alone, but in the heart. Blessings to you! 🙂

  2. We have been taught this often and well but the reminders are great. Reading through “Don’t Make Me Count to Three”. Thanks! We, too, tell our children that bad attitudes, anger and ANY sin is a choice we all make! And you are so right we don’t want them to simply change their behavior and be little robots we want a change of heart that desires to obey GOD, in turn, obeing PARENTS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

