Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Babies, children, blessings

4 Comments

My friend Lisa and I took our eight children for a walk this morning.  We each have four, all under the age of eight.  It was so neat to see them all together, and meditate on how God has blessed us.  Both of us were struck by the thought.  We agreed that the children are a lot of work, but such a blessing.  This coming from two moms of [little kids who need a LOT of training]. 

Later, I was holding Savannah, my friend’s new baby.  Laura came over and said, “Hold it!”  So I sat her down next to me and put Savannah in her lap.  But, as soon as Savannah moved, Laura pushed her away; she looked terrified.  I think she expected the baby to act like her baby doll.

I wonder how many women decide to only have a couple or no children because they don’t want their bodies to get all stretched out of shape?  It is a real temptation for me, even though I want a large family.  Every time we are about to get pregnant, I think, “No, I don’t want to have to start all over again, getting back in shape!”  It’s pretty selfish, isn’t it?  I’m not judging you–but I know for a fact that when I think of reasons not to have more children, they all end of being very self-centered.  Actually, after losing two babies, I stop and think a little more before I start to complain, and I quickly shoot my complaints down. I don’t think we all should have the same number of children.  That’s not what this post is about.  And I really am just talking about myself-I know there are others of you with legitimate reasons not to bear more children.   

I’ve been wanting another baby for a while.  It has been hard to be pregnant, and then for the baby (s) to die.  I’ve been joyful and content, but it has been a long time since we had a baby in the house and I miss it.  The other day, Rob said he thinks we should have another one before we move.  I asked him why, and he said, “Because it’s been a while since we had one.”  Wow!  No more practical reason than that.  He just wants another one.  It is the work of God in his heart, for sure.   The funny thing is that I have had three people in two weeks ask me if I was pregnant or planning to try for another one (I don’t look pregnant).  Maybe God was trying to tell us something?

It is a little scary, since I’ve lost the last two.  But I have had that nagging feeling that someone is missing, and Rob is starting to feel that way too.  I know God is Sovereign and good, and even if I lose another one, I can trust Him.  Another thing is that our insurance may not cover the medical expenses, and Rob might lose his job (funding is going away from the program he works on)–but he’s not worried about it.  He’s not always been this way, and I am enjoying tagging along in his faith. 

The point isn’t that there is this set number of children that everyone should have.  But if we are seeking God for His will, and He wants us to have more, or adopt more, we should obey even if it is inconvenient or scary.  He provides the means when they are needed, and He is faithful.

And did I mention that children are a blessing?  The more we have the more we want.  Pour on the blessings, Lord!  Raise up a godly generation through us who will fear, love, obey and serve You, and be a light to the world.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

4 thoughts on “Babies, children, blessings

  1. I’ve been hoping you would have a pregnancy announcement soon, I’ll be praying!

  2. Wow! Thanks for the reminder that those little ones causing ME (enter selfishness)”trouble” are SUCH BLESSINGS FROM MY FATHER! 🙂 Glad you and Lisa had that special time…you both have WONDERFUL children that are such a joy!

  3. Thanks so much for your article on Babies, Children, Blessings. I can relate to all that you feel. I have 4 children under 13; the last one just turned 3. My husband has left our quiver up to the Lord to determine, as of only the past two children. However, the Lord has not provided us with any more past the 4 beautiful blessings we are very grateful for. I pray every night that God would impose on us twins or triplets, as I’m 40 now. I could say it is selfish for me to desire more children, however God said, Be fruitful and multiply.” And if He said it, then it’s His will, but then it’s also obvious in the Word that babies are a blessing, therefore just cause He commanded us to be open to allowing babies to enter our lives, that doesn’t mean we’ll have babies. I am trying to find contentment and peace with whatever God decided, but it’s not easy. Our children and myself (my husband is good with more or no more) truly long almost everyday for more babies. Can you pray for me to become pregnant soon? And secondly that I will be content with either response from the Lord.
    My name is Syl and I live B.C., Canada.
    Thank you so very much.

  4. Syl,

    Thank you for reading. I am so glad you were encouraged! I prayed for you, as you asked.

    God bless you!

    Cassie

Leave a Reply

