Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Comforting

2 Comments

I recently heard this quote from J.C. Ryle in a sermon, and it ministered to me so much.  I also shared it with Rob, and he was really affected by it.  After our conflict this morning, Rob prayed a wonderful prayer, and peace flooded my heart.  One of the things he prayed was that even though we have struggles with sin within our marriage, that does not indicate that God is not at work!  Indeed, the fact that we recognize our sin, and spend time resolving our problems is an indication of God’s grace and work in our lives.  His prayer reminded me of this quote:

“Sanctification does not prevent a man from having a great deal of inward spiritual conflict.  By conflict I mean a struggle within the heart between the flesh and the Spirit, which are to be found together in every believer.  A deep sense of that struggle, and a vast amount of healthy discomfort from it, are no proof that a man is not sanctified.  Nay, rather, I believe, they are healthy symptoms of our condition and prove we are not dead, but alive.  A true Christian is one who has not only peace of conscience, but war within.  He may be known by his warfare as well as by his peace.”

J.C. Ryle

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Comforting

  1. Since I am always at War I really like this quote! Struggles, conflict and warfare ARE indeed good. They reveal our hearts and our desire to grow, change and NOT sin in the same way again and again! Isn’t God good to us!? Thanks Cassie! 🙂

  2. How very true Cassie. I love this quote. God bless!

Leave a Reply

