Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

The bread of idleness, for breakfast

1 Comment

“She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness” Proverbs 31:27.

I’ve been sick, so I have been a bit idle this week.  Enough so that I haven’t made any bread.  Last night I made a shepherd’s pie with bread crumbs on top.  I keep a bag of bread ends/crusts in my freezer, to use for bread crumbs. I was in a hurry to go to caregroup last night, and I left the bag out all night. 

This morning we were trying to find something for breakfast and when I saw the bread crusts I decided those would have to do.   My friend Lisa was coming to walk, so I didn’t have time to make pancakes.  The nice thing was that the kids didn’t complain.

“Better is a dry morsel with quietness, than a house full of feasting with strife” Proverbs 17:1.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “The bread of idleness, for breakfast

  1. The END PIECES are mine and B’s favorites! We actually have a friend who throws them in the trash. B & I were shocked, insulted and confused when we learned this! 🙂 YUM we say! We like the END of almost anything! **Bread, home made pound cake- my Grandmother’s is baked in a loaf pan, and brownies . 🙂 Let your children know of the evidences of grace you see in their lives! 🙂

Leave a Reply

