Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

A cup of water for the Lord

3 Comments

Saturday night, I was washing dishes; I was already exhausted from working all day, and I just wanted to get it done.  Rob came in from working in the garage to ask me for a drink of water, and my first reaction was to be really annoyed.  Couldn’t he see I was surrounded by pots and pans?  But I repented and got him the water with a cheerful heart (only by God’s grace and the prompting of the Holy Spirit).  Rob told me he could see I had just mopped the floor and so he didn’t want to walk into the kitchen with his dirty boots–so he was actually trying to serve me.

I remembered the message I had been listening to earlier in the day by CJ Mahaney on marriage and CJ’s reminder that our marriages serve as a picture of Christ and the church.  My response to my husband ought to be cheerful, respectful, immediate, submissive–just as the church ought to respond to the Lord.  What I am already doing (the dishes) is not more important than serving my husband, even if I am already serving in some other way.

That thought led me to question my response to the Lord.  Am I busy, like Martha, doing what I think is most important, or am I sitting at His feet, like Mary, drinking in His words, and finding out what His will is?  Do I obey Him cheerfully when He asks me to do something that wasn’t in my plan for the day?

I have a long road to walk in both areas, but I know God is faithful and will finish the good work He has begun in me.

Thank You, Lord.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “A cup of water for the Lord

  1. Oh me too Cassie…we are walking the same road! Thanks for the reminders and nuggets of truth! 🙂

  2. What a great post Cassie. Thank you for your humility in sharing this. I too can relate and it is a constant dying of myself and my wants and purposefully seeking to serve others with the right heart and attitude. God is so good to show me daily my sinful heart and lavishes me with grace! He is so kind!

  3. Oh how convicting! I admit that this is one of my struggles….. I get caught up in my to do list and sometimes I am too busy to serve Andy as I should. I justify it by saying “Well, what is on my ‘to do’ list IS serving him”……but sometimes its a matter of good, better, and best. Then again, as much as I love seeing those check marks, marking off each item as it gets done, sometimes its a matter of just stopping, putting my own desires and self aside, and just serving my husband. Thank you Cassie, and if you think of me, pray for me regarding this issue. Some days I really lose the battle in this area. Today was one of them. God bless.

Leave a Reply

