Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

At such a time as this

Leave a comment

I came across these quotes in my reading today.  God’s timing is always perfect–I have been slowly reading through A Chance to Die by Elizabeth Elliot, but I’ve not picked it up for a few weeks.  I decided to read it today and the chapter was on a difficult year in which many of Amy Carmichael’s family and friends died.  She wrote the following:

“We are not asked to SEE” said Amy.  “Why need we when we KNOW?”  We know–not the answer to the inevitable Why, but the incontestable fact that it is for the best.  “It is an irreparable loss, but is it faith at all if it is ‘hard to trust’ when things are entirely bewildering?”

“The honest heart cannot be content with platitudes.  ‘An enemy hath done this’ is a word that reaches far and touches more than tares.  If an enemy has done it, how can it be called the will of God?  We do not know the answer to that question now.  But we have sidelights upon it, such as the vision in Revelation: They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and the word of their testimony (victory through apparent defeat)….And as we rest our hearts upon what we know (the certainty of the ultimate triumph of good), leaving what we do not know to the Love that has led us all our life long, the peace of God enters into us and abides.”

——–

Just knowing that God had this chapter and these quotes waiting for me at this time gives me assurance that He is with me and loves me with an everlasting love, and not me only, but all of us.  And I am thankful for your listening ears (eyes?) and loving concern and prayers.  None of you dear friends have offered mere “platitudes”, and I am grateful for that.

God bless you.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

