Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Redeeming the Time

4 Comments

Here is further conviction and motivation discovered today for my battle over laziness:

“Doubtless this is the best way to redeem time, to see that we lose not an hour, when we spend it only on necessary things.  This is the way to be most profitable to others, though not always to be most pleasing or applauded; because, through men’s frailty, it is true what Seneca says, that ‘We are attracted to novelties rather than to great things.’ ”

Richard Baxter

‘ “But, says one, “are we not to have amusements?”  Yes, such amusements as you can take in the fear of God.  Do whatever Jesus would have done.”

Charles H. Spurgeon

“I have nothing to say against recreation in its proper place.  Certain forms of recreation are needful and useful; but it is a wretched thing when amusement becomes a vocation.  Amusement should be used to do us good ‘like a medicine’: it must never be used as the food of man.  From early morning till late at night some spend their time in a round of frivolities, or else their very work is simply carried on to furnish them funds for their pleasures.  This is vicious.  Many have had all holy thoughts and gracious resolutions stamped out by perpetual trifling.  Pleasure so called is the murderer of thought.  This is the age of excessive amusement: everybody craves for it, like a babe for its rattle.”

Charles H. Spurgeon

 

I am so glad there are men like Mr. Baxter and Mr. Spurgeon who are not afraid to speak the truth in love.  I so need these kinds of reminders, because in my flesh I easily waste time on needless things.

But I think I’ve finally overcome my fear of ironing.  Now if I can just conquer the dusting, I’ll be all set; at least until God shows me another area to work on.  He is a gracious, patient God!

 

 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

4 thoughts on “Redeeming the Time

  1. Cassie, pray for me, I still have that fear of ironing!!! 🙂 I especially loved the first quote and the last one. God bless you, I am praying for you and Rob. Love, Lynn

  2. Cassie, thank you so much for sharing this with me today! I too join you in this fight against laziness, thank you for opening your home and your family to me tonight I LOVED spending time with you guys. And thank you for the quotes! Have a wonderful Saturday!!!

  3. I am praying for you, Lynn:)

    And Kendra–we soooo enjoyed having you over today. Thank you for spending your Friday with us.

    Love,
    Cassie

  4. I think we all battle this in one way or another.
    Exactly what did you fear about ironing? I just DISLIKE IT! 🙂 But I am doing it more and more b/c it doesn’t serve Ryan to always do it! Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

