Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Be careful who you read

4 Comments

Last Wednesday, at the men’s meeting, one of our pastors (John Lenfesty) spoke to the men about being Bereans–testing everything we read and hear with God’s word.  He stated that we need to be careful about the authors we read, and that we need to find out about their lives and character before we spend a lot of time reading what they have to say.  Are they faithful men or women of God?  Do they practice what they write?  Did they run the race and finish well? 

Have you ever gone into a Christian bookstore and come out discouraged by the lack of truly Christian literature within that so-named bookstore?  I have.  I am reading “An introduction to Christian Writing” by Ethel Herr.  On page 23 she says, “Many people who are not Christians write for Christian magazines and publishers; they address what they consider to be Christian topics.”  I shouldn’t have been surprised by that statement, but I confess I was.  It made John’s admonition that much more pertinent.  We really do need to be careful who we read.

I think that it is appropriate to warn our brothers and sisters in Christ of any false teacher we discover in the clothing of a Christian author (not in a spirit of gossip however, but in concern for their souls).  It is also a good idea to share about books which meet biblical criteria, and authors who have proven Christian character.  My friend Brandi, who is the wife of our pastor John, recently wrote a review of the book “Shopping For Time” by Carolyn Mahaney and her daughters Nicole, Kristen and Janelle.  Her review broke my resolve to not add any more books to my already too long list, and Rob blessed me by buying the book for me yesterday.  He and I have both read the first couple chapters, and were both encouraged by them.  Rob said that the book is applicable to both men and women–just change the shopping theme to something more masculine for the men. 

For the review, click here.  For an inspiring video about the Mahaney’s, so you can learn more about their lives and character, click here.

Happy reading. 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

4 thoughts on “Be careful who you read

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! This is why I do not read anything without a GOOD word from a friend or am familiar with the author. That was news to me about the non-Christians writing for Christian books… but it IS so believable! Isn’t that sad?!?
    Hilda

  2. Hi Cassie, Andy was very encouraged by John’s message the other night as well. This was a great reminder to all of us, thank you for sharing it. 🙂
    Also, I just wanted to let you know I gave you an award on my blog. 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

  3. This is one reason why I have started reviewing books on our blog – not because my opinion is anything worth having, but just because there is so much to wade through; I like to highlight that which has been particularly helpful (or particularly UNhelpful!).

    I too bought “Shopping For Time” and I started it just this weekend. I usually take some time Sunday afternoon to plan out my week, and I’m intending to read one chapter each week during that time, and apply whatever concept they’re teaching. My favorite part so far is that while rising early is a good principle for us to follow, it will look different for each family. I tend to be a literalist, and if someone says I should get up at 4:53 AM each morning, I’d kill myself trying to do it.

  4. Hi. I saw your blog on Lynn’s One Way Or Another and wanted to check it out. Your family is beautiful and your blog is full of good information!
    Our pastor (happens to be my dad) is always saying, “Be a Berean”. There IS so much out there listed as “Christian”…and I LOVE the Mahaney’s books! My husband and I just read his book on Humility. I highly recommend it.

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

