Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Two-year-olds are especially cute

9 Comments

My heart has been pretty weighed down lately, so I haven’t been posting as many cute things from the children.  Laura made me smile today though when she came into the bathroom, climbed onto the chair in front of the sink and waved to me in the mirror.  She said, “Hello, Mommy.”  Looking at herself in the mirror, she said,  “Hello, Me.” It reminded me of something out of Winnie-the-Pooh.

During family worship Rob has each one pray in turn, beginning with Laura.  After Laura finishes praying she pats Sarah on the back and says, “Your turn, Sawah.”

Laura’s names for the members of her family are:  Momeeeee, Daddeeeee, Mafew, Gugu, and Sawah.

The other night during worship Laura kept leaning over and giving me hugs.  I was quite overwhelmed with thankfulness that God has allowed her to be a part of our family.  It was during her pregnancy that my celiac symptoms got worse, and she was a failure to thrive baby when I was nursing.  Since her birth I have had four miscarriages, and that reminds me that God is Sovereign.  Apart from His grace I could have easily lost her too.  I am thankful for all of my children, but since she is the last one I’ve been able to have at this point I am extra mindful of His grace concerning her birth into our family. 

I was walking down the hallway this afternoon and saw Laura smiling at me from her bed.  She made me smile, which was a good thing since I was feeling pretty sad right then.  God is good to send His comfort.  I picked her up and hugged her tight.

If you think of it, pray for us–it’s a hard season.  We know God is leading, and His purpose is good, but that doesn’t make it pain free.  We are clinging to Him.

Cassie 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

9 thoughts on “Two-year-olds are especially cute

  1. While one of our deacons was praying Sunday morning in church, Ethan decided he wanted to kiss me…loud! I felt bad that he was distracting, but, Oh how yummy!

    Children are a great gift, aren’t they?

    Know that I am going to pray for you and your family right now.

  2. I have a list of fun blessings that I put on my blog this morning. It might make you smile. Come by if you want.

    http://realworldmartha.wordpress.com

    In Christ,
    Debbie (Mom)

  3. Awe this was so sweet Cassie! Thanks for sharing! Yes we are so blessed to have children. Thank you for the reminder to be grateful to Him! There isn’t anything quite like a hug from your child is there? 🙂 Just imagine how God loves us, His children! I will continue to pray for you all. I find it so encouraging that, through all you’re going through, you remain focused on Him for all things! Thank you so much for your faithfulness.

    Love
    ~Megan~

  4. We’ll continue to keep your family in prayer, Cassie.

  5. What a sweet post. Convicted me that often I am too busy to be hugged or truly enjoy the hug as I should! May I ever be mindful to cherish every moment with my children…they are such a gift from the Lord! 🙂 Will continue to pray….I don’t understand but will pray anyway! Trusting HIM and knowing He is faithful! I love you!

  6. I’m sorry this is a hard season, I pray God’s blessings upon your family. And yes, he does minister to us so much through our children doesn’t he? 🙂 Praying for you guys, Lynn

  7. I wish I was there to give you a hug daughter of mine. We love you and pray for your precious family often.

    Dad

  8. Oh, what sweet words from dad! Isn’t it a blessing to have parents who you know pray for you daily? I rejoice in that fact!

  9. Come on over for coffee, and enter my give away!

Leave a Reply

