Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

I stand at the door and knock

6 Comments

I caught Laura at my bathroom door this morning singing, “I stand at the door and knock, I stand at the door and knock, knock, knock” as she knocked on my door. 

The song is from a Scripture memory CD we have, and the passage is, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me” Revelation 3:20.

The verse before says, “Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent” Revelation 3:19.  The Lord has been honing in on areas of my life that call for repentance.  Funny, I was praying the other day for repentance within the body of Christ worldwide.  I kind of included myself in that, but I wasn’t expecting for God to point out several areas of my life that need purified.  My initial response was pride and anger, but now I am thankful that God loves me enough to sanctify me and make me more like Him. And what a blessing to discover even sweeter fellowship with the Lord when I finally repent.

A thought I have been reading here and there is that God is most glorified when we are the weakest.  He wants me to rely on Him instead of myself.  Weakness and physical problems are a constant companion, so I guess I must really need reminded of this.   

A friend recently told me that I am doing a great job with my children, and that they are so well-behaved.  But then she said, “But let me ask you, do you ever get stressed out?”  I answered with a strong, “Yes!”  It is never my intention to look like I have it all together.  I want you to know right now that I DO NOT!  I am a weak sinner who has been saved by grace. 

I could tell you countless stories about my failures and many stories about my children.  I am the one who a couple of years ago asked some older women for help with one of my children.  One of them replied, “I will pray for you, but I do not know what to tell you–none of my children were EVER like THAT.”  This is what I constantly heard from older women.  How discouraging!  Well, why is my son so different? I wanted to know. 

Any progress we have made, any good attitudes and behavior in my children, any sanctification accomplished, ANY good in our lives is a result of God’s grace and the wisdom He has supplied as we’ve begged Him for it on our knees almost every day (we ought to ask daily).  We didn’t get where we are easily, nor have we arrived at our final destination.  That is why, just this week, God has called me to repentance.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

6 thoughts on “I stand at the door and knock

  1. Cassie,
    Thank you for posting this! God is so good to give us what we pray for but in ways we totally don’t expect. I am so grateful to see him working in you. He has been revealing areas for repentance in my life also what a sweet joy that He cares for us.
    Welcome sweet November may we remember to have an extra dose of grace and thankfulness today!

  2. Cassie,
    Thank you for your words!
    Today I needed them! It has been a hard day.

    I too have had older women tell me that…”thats not normal children don’t normally act like that” or ” I never had any of my children behave like that” …I have often wondered what am I doing wrong.
    Because a few woman like you are willing to share their heart I now know I am not alone…I know there are others who are seeking God’s wisdom in raising their children and each child is different.
    Thank you for the wisdom and honesty you share here.
    God Bless

  3. OH CASSIE THANK YO FOR THESE SWEET WORDS. WHAT A TIMELY REMINDER. GOD IS GOOD AND HIS CONVICTIONS ARE SWEET. THANK GOD FOR THE OLDER LADIES IN MY LIFE WHOENCOURAGE ME AND TELL ME “EVEN WORSE” STORIES ABOUT THEIR CHILDREN…AH, THERE IS HOPE FOR MY CHILDREN!!! (I MEAN LOOK AT THOSE WONDERFUL TEENS WALKING WITH THE LORD!) AND I AGREE WIHT KENDRA…WELCOME SWEET NOVEMBER & MAY WE ALL BE THANKFUL! 🙂

  4. Thanks for this, Cassie, apparently I am not alone!

  5. Aren’t you thankful that God loves us enough to point out the areas we need to work on? I had been praying that He would help me see when I needed to die to self and then help me to do it this past week. He heard me, and He gave me opportunities! Some big ones! 🙂 I can’t say I DID die each time, but it is making me more aware of the opportunities and what I need to do when they arise.

    At least when you are the “older woman” someday and some young woman asks for advice you will say, “Oh, I have been there!” and bring them to things in Gods word and things that helped you or worked for you.

  6. Cassie,
    I made some changes on my blog. Let me know if you can read it now.
    Thanks!
    gina

Leave a Reply

