Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Country Blessings

2 Comments

We have some friends we met in our Breadbecker’s co-op (for bulk grains) who have a small family farm.  They took the children and I on a tour today.  We LOVED it.  I wish I had pictures to share with you.  Even Laura, who is a bit timid, was willing to pet a goat. 

They have bees, and we brought home some honey; yum!  They also have goats, rabbits, dogs, sheep, various chickens, turkeys and pheasants.  Have you ever felt a mini rex rabbit?  They are sooooo soft.  varblack.jpg

This family is doing what we want to do in the future, and the more we see others raising their own food and enjoying working hard together as a family, the more we want to go that route.  At this point, I don’t have enough work for my sons to do, and I really see the value in raising them on good, hard work.  The bonus being that we would get to do it together.

There is something so wholesome about raising your own milk, eggs, meat, vegetables and fruit.  A close second is being able to get those things from a friend or neighbor.  There is something so personal about it that makes you appreciate where the food comes from.  I like knowing that the jar of honey sitting on my counter was harvested by a friend from her own hives.

Our friend sent us home with a couple plants, to put in our herb/vegetable garden which has been much neglected.  We came home and weeded the beds so we could plant our treasures.  I hope they take.  If not, we can go get more and try again. 

It was a blessing to be inspired to make an effort in that area.  Our lives have felt so transient these past few years, because of moving from house to house, that we have not spent much time on a garden (and we MISS it).  We were babysitting a friend’s children so I had lots of willing helpers for pulling weeds–it was nice to see them all working cheerfully. I always feel so good after doing that kind of work.  Probably because I can see I accomplished something.

We would love to move to the country right now, but God has us here for now.  So I think it is so kind of Him to provide these simple blessings that mean so much.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Country Blessings

  1. I LOVE THIS POST & COULDN’T AGREE MORE. I GREW UP WORKING HARD WITH MY GRANDPARENTS, COUSINS & SISTER ON A FARM. I REALLY MISS MOST OF IT. AND MY CHILDREN ARE CERTAINLY MISSING OUT…THEY DON’T KNOW HOW GOOD I HAD IT! 🙂

  2. I too remember working on my cousins dairy farm. It was so neat to milk the cows and drink that fresh milk. My dad use to buy a calf and we would raise it on a friend’s farm then he and his friend would butcher it and our family had meat for the whole year until we raised and butchered another one. Ah . . . memories! My dad was such a hard worker. I miss him!

Leave a Reply

