Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Strength of my heart

Leave a comment

I’ve still been reading A Chance to Die, by Elizabeth Elliot.  A quote I have especially appreciated is:

“Strength of my heart, I need not fail,

Not mine to fear but to obey,

With such a Leader, who could quail?

Thou art as Thou wert yesterday.

Strength of my heart, I rest in Thee,

     Fulfil Thy purposes through me.”

                                                       (p 239)   

 

I believe He has a purpose in creating me with Celiac disease and the other allergies I have.  There is a reason.  It is not a waste.  There are times I am tempted to be angry at God.  Usually it is when I am in pain from something I ate, or when I discover yet another food I have to put on my “do not eat” list, or when I can’t eat my sister-in-law’s gourmet meals, or when we can’t go out to eat with friends, or–well, actually, I am tempted a lot.  But I’ve been trying to meditate on the thought that God is the Potter and I am only the clay, so I have no right to be angry at the Potter for how He has chosen to make me.  Somehow, some way, it is for His glory.  I take comfort in that.  I do hope that God will allow me to help others as a result of going through this. 

We don’t understand all God is doing with us, but His word is a lamp for our feet and a light to our path.  Even when the path is steep, we have the sure sense of God’s presence with us saying “this is the way, walk in it.”  We get impatient for the next thing, but in the waiting we see God skillfully at work.  It really isn’t waiting, because God is always working and has a purpose for each moment.  Oh that we would be thankful, and walk with joyful hearts.  God help us to worship Him and not make idols out of our desires. 

Please pray for Rob’s mom.  And for wisdom for us as we care for her.  Her health continues to decline and we don’t know what to do.  We are available to serve her, but are not sure what is the wisest way to do so.    

Pressing on one step at a time–looking for His glory in it all.                                                                     

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

