Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

God knows who are His

1 Comment

I’ve been reading Isaiah for my devotions, lately, and Rob has been reading to us from Jeremiah.  Repeatedly, God tells the people to repent or else He would discipline them.  He describes in great detail what their punishment would look like, but then He tells the righteous man not to worry, because he would be rewarded for his faithfulness.

God knows each one by name.  He knows our hearts.  He is not like the parent who says that all the children will be punished, because of one child’s sin! 

The amazing thing is that we all deserve God’s judgement, and should be punished.  But Jesus has taken our place–He became sin for us so we could become the righteousness of God.  He calls us to repent, and trust in Jesus for our righteousness.  He said that to the Israelites too, and the ones He rewarded are the ones who repented.  But the ones who refused to repent were led away to their death.  But not before their eyes were put out and their bodies tortured. 

I am thankful that God loves me, saves me, keeps me.  I know I don’t deserve it.  God keeps His word.  To the one who repents and makes Him Lord, comes life and blessing.  But to the one who refuses to repent, choosing rather to walk in pride against the Creator of the universe, comes death.   

Do you belong to Him?     

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “God knows who are His

  1. Only by his grace do I belong to him. What a precious read. I recently finished reading Isaiah in my morning reading time and am now a few chapers into Jeremiah…God is so kind to have you share something that is so fresh to me! 🙂 I am so glad He knows me individually and personally!
    Thanks for this encouragement.
    Love and Miss you…gotta get a Feb. date soon…sorry, it has been crazy at our house! 😛

Leave a Reply

