Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Visiting Family

1 Comment

The Lord has blessed us with the opportunity to visit my parents this week.  We are enjoying our time together and it will be difficult to leave. 

My friend Adina and her family recently moved to the same city my parents live in, so we have gotten to visit with them as well (with more  get togethers planned).  We knew each other when my family lived on Guam–Adina, our friend Mistie and I were inseparable.  My parents taught a youth Bible study in our home,  which Adina was a part of.  So they have enjoyed seeing Adina as well! We had a great time last night, talking about memories, and sharing how the Lord has been at work in each of our lives.  I was so encouraged.

Dad, Rob and the children  and I  went to Adina and Jeremy’s church yesterday, and  it “happened” to be their daughter Merry’s baby dedication.  Adina posted pictures  on her blog  of all of us.

Adina was telling Mom and me about a good series of inductive Bible studies, written by a godly woman whom she knows personally.  After hearing about this woman’s life, I am so excited to use these studies.  I love inductive Bible study, but have a hard time being consistent with it on my own. 

Last night we talked about how important God’s word is.  It seems an obvious fact, but so often we do not act on it.  This morning in my quiet time I read Isaiah  5.  These verses struck me: “They have lyre and harp, tambourine and flute and wine at their feasts, but they do not regard the work of the Lord, or see the work of  His hands.  Therefore, my people go into exile for lack of knowledge; there honored men go hungry, and their multitude is parched with thirst” Isaiah 5:12-13.  I have seen this verse  lived out in many churches.  We are not sitting around getting drunk together, but much of our time is spent playing and partying–building relationships by doing fun things together to the extreme.  Little time is devoted to celebrating the works of the Lord, really studying and knowing God’s word, praying together (praying together is what really binds people together, so much more than doing fun things) and satisfying the true hunger and thirst of the people.  I am not saying it is wrong to do fun things together, but this was certainly not the focus of the early church and it shouldn’t be ours either.  We are starving  for the word of God, even though we have several copies of the Bible on our shelves.

I am guilty of making God’s word less of a priority.  I say that even though we read it as a family several times each day.  It is easy for it to become mere duty, something you do in your own strength.  My prayer this morning was that God would increase my hunger and thirst for His word.  That I would truly see that God’s word is life to me; that without it I would die. 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Visiting Family

  1. Hi, Cassie, just wanted to stop by and tell you that i don’t always comment, but really enjoy reading your blog. It is very much a help to refocus me . I sometimes get off track. YOu and Tammy are the only ones I get to read that is God centered. And your insights are very good and interesting. Thanks Donna

Leave a Reply

