Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Quiet Time

2 Comments

 I awoke early in the morning, hoping to have a quiet time–alone.  As soon as I sat down with my Bible and notebook, all my children came out to be with me.  I was momentarily tempted to be angry, “Why can’t they leave me alone?”  But the Lord reminded me that I can include them in my quiet time and that it is good for them to see me reading the Bible, because it makes them want to read theirs.

Being a mom has given me lots of opportunities to re-think what a quiet time looks like!  Several times I have read the Scripture passage to my children instead of silently to myself.    Other times I have pulled them into my arms and prayed over them.  Now we have our own quiet times, even if in the same room, and also have family reading times throughout the day.  This morning I sat Laura on the couch with her “Jesus Bible” and she had her quiet time while I had mine. Why should I be angry if my children want to sit at Jesus’ feet with me?   

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Quiet Time

  1. Thanks so much for the reminder of TRUTH and LOVE and how to live it out among our children. I am too apt to feel that my children hinder what I should or want to be doing instead of viewing things in light of eternity. Oh, God forgive me and help me focus! 🙂
    I am glad I have people like you in my life to remind me Cassie!

  2. As soon as I read that, I thought of Jesus’s words… ” suffer the little children to come unto me..”, He always has time for his children! What an example for us all to follow! Sounds like your following Sis! Thank you for sharing! love,Tammy

Leave a Reply

