Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

A different way of thinking

2 Comments

The weather has been really nice here lately, so the children have gotten to ride their bikes out front a lot.  A neighbor girl sometimes comes over and rides with them.  Rob and I were taking turns sitting out with them one afternoon and had some conversations with her about children.

I asked her if she had any brothers or sisters.  “No”, she answered, “if I had brothers and sisters then all the money my parents spent to get me my bike, my motor scooter, my scooter and my skateboard would have been spent on them.”  And, “If I had brothers and sisters my dad would probably say ‘No’ more.”  “That would be okay,” was my unsympathetic answer.  It sounded to me like she wanted brothers and sisters and this is what her parents comforted her with. 

Later she told Rob, “There sure is a lot of stuff in your garage–that’s what happens when you have four kids.  That’s why my parents don’t have four kids.”  Rob assured her that we try not to get too much stuff for our children and that most of the stuff in the garage belongs to him (tools) and that the mess happens when you have too much stuff and not enough places to put things.

“Where no oxen are, the trough is clean; but much increase comes by the strength of an ox” Proverbs 14:4. 

Why do people always say, “You sure have your hands full!”?  One woman told me she had a two year old, and she didn’t know how I could handle having four children.  Well, if I had four two year olds I’d probably be going crazy, but graciously God has given them to me one at a time, and they are a blessing.  I’d rather have my hands full of precious hands and hearts than a big boat and time to do my own thing any day.   

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “A different way of thinking

  1. Awh, how sad for this little girl. Nothing is better than a sibling. Some parents just have no idea. I am thankful that you & Rob always speak truth to those around you. You would be amazed how often I am told I have my hands full with only 2 children! (maybe b/c they are so close in age..??) Some just don’t understand what a blessing children are. I can’t imagine life w/o mine! Thanks for sharing and being positive! 🙂
    love you

  2. I had 7 in my house today (not counting my two oldest) and I really do enjoy it. Our foster daughter is challenging, but God is good and I am growing through it. I just love all the kids at the table eating a snack. So cute.

Leave a Reply

