Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Past myself

3 Comments

I helped a woman choose an anniversary card for her pastor, yesterday.  She was sitting in one of those riding carts at Walmart, crying over a card.  She told me that she can’t help crying whenever she reads those cards.  Her anniversary is just recently past, but her husband is in a nursing home and does not know her anymore.  I couldn’t help putting my hand on her shoulder to comfort her.  So she told me about her pastor who just had a baby who probably won’t live to be a year.  She handed me the card and asked me to make sure it would be suitable.  I agreed that it would be, as she had already made up her mind but only needed someone to tell her she was right.

All around us, people are going through difficult circumstances.  But it is so easy to be wrapped up in our own lives and cares.  I am thankful for the opportunity to see past myself. 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “Past myself

  1. Awh, Sobering reminder. Bless her heart! It is so easy to be selfish and self-consumed may God always point us to the cross and others! 🙂

  2. How sad! I am so glad you helped her!

  3. Isn’t it amazing how God works!!!!! We wake and start our day and make plans and do our daily things not knowing when or where God may use us. When I meditate on that it makes waking each day looking forward to what God has planned next. I pray I stay faithful in listening to His direction. I am so glad you listened and were there for her sis! Love, Tammy

Leave a Reply

