Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

The Library

2 Comments

I just discovered that you can “order” library books online and have them delivered to any library in your county for pick-up.  I am sure I am way behind the times in this, but I thought I’d post about it anyway.  This service is wonderful for busy homeschool moms who would love to go to the library but who don’t have time. 

We use My Father’s World curriculum for our homeschool, which relies heavily on library books for what they call “book basket time”.  This is a neat concept that my children really enjoy.  You are supposed to gather library books which supplement the reading you have already done with your children using the core books that come with the curriculum.  Every day, the children spend 15 minutes reading the books from their basket.  They can read as much or as little as they want from each book.  It is a great idea, but supplying the books on a regular basis could be a full-time job, especially since our library is small and doesn’t have half the books I need. 

I spent a few minutes and looked for the books I needed on our county’s library website, requested them and then waited for a phone call.  Once we were called, my husband was able to pick the books up on the way home from work.  There are two libraries close to the base where he works, so it is  convenient for him to run in and grab the books.

I have a love/hate relationship with modern technology, but this is definitely an aspect I like.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “The Library

  1. That is amazing! I wish I would have been able to do that with my children when they were growing up! I will have to let Crissy know about that and my friends! Thanks for sharing sis! Love,Tammy

  2. I just discovered what ILL is all about and am amazed to have 2 books we need for school in our home right now all the way from Tallahassee!!!! YAY for technology, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

