Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Another Notch

6 Comments

We lost our 10th child to miscarriage on Monday night.  I feel like I’ve added a notch to my “belt”.  I can say, “I’ve had six miscarriages, how many have you had?”  Honestly, my flesh wants to go there, to compare sufferings with other people to see who has suffered the most.  It is a ridiculous reaction, but I admit to it. 

I hope that any suffering I experience will be useful for serving others.  2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” This is the response I want to have.  I have friends who have not been able to have any children.  I can only imagine how painful that is, but I hope I can be more compassionate to them and remember to pray for them more, having gone through the miscarriages. 

The Lord does have a purpose in the miscarriages, and so I pray that He will bring it about.  I certainly do not have all the answers.  It doesn’t make sense to me that God would give us a heart (His heart) for children and then not allow us to have more children.  I do know that losing precious babies makes me even more thankful for the four wonderful children God has given us.  It really is a miracle every time a baby is conceived and carried to term.  Only God can accomplish it.  

 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

6 thoughts on “Another Notch

  1. Dear Sis,
    Thank you for sharing from your heart! ((((((hugs))))))) Sometimes that can be very difficult to do without completly giving into your fleshly thoughts, but those words in Corinthians are so true! As you know I have three children, all grown, and grandbabies too, several years ago, I lost a baby, I didn’t say anything at first to anyone, I felt like, ok, I have three children so I shouldn’t be upset but I was! It hurt very deeply inside. I remember it coming out at of all places my daughter in laws wedding shower, most of the people were gone except for my closest sisters in Christ, and as we were talking, it just came out and they were so loving and precious to me through it ! God did that for me and let me know it was ok for me to feel the way I was feeling as it is ok for you to feel that way as well.
    As far as what you said about the notches on your belt. I have been there too! Mine is different and may sound a little strange but it happens in my flesh and God has to bring me back to looking at Him and His perfect will and Plan! I have been praying for my husband as the spiritual leader of my home for years, others have been praying for him as well for years, and I have watched many of my other sisters in Christ have that happen with their husbands and yet mine has not yet. My flesh feels like, ok, God granted it for them, why not me?? So in a way, I can understand wanting to compare sufferings, but I as you quoted, God does give me comfort in knowing that He is working and carrying out His Plan, not mine, and it is perfect and will work out perfect in His precious timing! I MUST hold on to that! We must hold on to that! Goodness! I have just poured my heart out to you! Sorry for the long comment! 🙂 I love you sis!

  2. I am so blessed to know both of you , Cassie, and Tammy …who share your joys and struggles so openly with their sisters. It seems to be very human to compare blessings, stuggles, timing, and even the gifts God pours out to us. Resisting the tempation to do so always brings to mind that plea “I believe…help my unbelief” from Mark 9:24. This Scripture has been very sweet to me as I pray to be given the measure of grace necessary to live with contentment the life-plan that God will use to bring Him the most glory.

    We have so many ladies in our church that with God-honoring desires that remain unfulfilled, and I can see how with each of them God is very, very specifically crafting their lives for unique service. What a blessing to be able to join you in prayer as we ask for these things for one another, and what a joy it is to share the little signs of God’s hand at work during the waiting as you both are so faithful to do.

  3. Sweetie,

    Dad and I are so sad to hear about the miscarriage!! We can’t know the Lord’s thoughts, but we know He greatly loves you. We pray you’ll be comforted with His comfort, and that you’ll be able to go to Him like a young child leaning against his mother.

    Our love to all of you,
    Dad & Mom

  4. Oh Cassie, I am so sorry to hear this.
    I pray that God comforts you as only HE can. His ways are higher than our ways.
    I love you 🙂

  5. I really can’t add anymore to what the other have said already. Just know I am thinking of you and praying for you.

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss, Cassie…

Leave a Reply

