Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Feeling Discouraged

2 Comments

It’s been a long day.  Honestly, I feel worn down.  Not that it has been a bad day, only a long one full of so much business, and I still have to clean up the mess.  But I had to sit and pray for a bit, and the Lord encouraged me by reminding me of this passage of Scripture, “Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap.  For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.  And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.  So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of God” Galatians 6:7-10.

The work of denying myself and sowing good seed into the lives of my husband and children is challenging–but if I don’t plant those seeds I will not benefit from the fruit of those seeds,  my husband and children will not be blessed by them, and I will not hear my Father say, “Well done, My good and faithful servant.” 

As I think about it a little more I realize that it isn’t so much the planting that wears me out as it is the weeding.  Like a gardener, I get excited about planting Scripture and God’s wisdom into my children’s hearts, and I eagerly look forward to them embracing it and living it out.  But that takes time.  Just as a gardener has to weed his garden to allow the good plants to grow, I have to faithfully tend to my children’s hearts.  I shouldn’t be surprised that I have to do this work.  Actually, I should expect it and be zealous about it, knowing that in the end I will reap a beautiful garden. 

I feel better already.  Having the right perspective makes such a difference in how we feel about our circumstances, doesn’t it?  I’m off to clean up the mess with this verse going through my mind, “Where there are no oxen, the manger is clean, but abundant crops come by the strength of the ox” Proverbs 14:4.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Discouraged

  1. GOD REMINDED ME OF THE VERY SAME THING TODAY! ISN’T HE KIND? 🙂

  2. Goodness how God works! I also was reminded of this yesterday! Thank you for sharing from your heart with us sis and for sharing God’s truths with us as well! I love you! Tammy

Leave a Reply

