Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Florida Nature

2 Comments

Yesterday we took a hike on the trail between our subdivision and I-10.  It has a wide path so it is easy to avoid things like poison ivy, but there are many shady patches from the trees.  We went last week also, but didn’t think to take the camera.  On our last trip we saw a cotton mouth in the river that marks our turnaround spot–we were glad it was on the other side.  It seemed afraid of us and hid underneath some leaves. 

We did take the camera yesterday.  As I identify the different plants I will add their names to the pictures.  You might have to put your curser over the pictures to see the captions.  There is a picture of a monarch butterfly–you can kind of see the white spots and some of the orange.  It was too fast for me to get a good shot of it.  It was beautiful!  We waited for a long time to get some pictures of the huge blue dragonflies, and it was neat watching them fly over the water. 

At home, we saw a long-tailed skipper butterfly hovering over our bean plants.  Their caterpillars eat bean plants, so I guess it felt at home there.

Enjoy the pictures–I am so fascinated with the creativity of God.  He has given us so many things to enjoy and that testify of His glory.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

2 thoughts on “Florida Nature

  1. The pictures are beautiful Cassie! I hope to get outside again soon! Love,Tammy

  2. Hi Cassie,

    Thank you so much for the wonderful letter. What a great surprise. Your children are beautiful. I will send you an email from work tomorrow and fill you in on what has been happening in my life. Thank you so much for reaching out to me and also for continuing to pray for me and my children.

    Love,

    Lisa, Ashley, Steven & Max (new cat)
    (Ashley 17; Steven 15; Max 2

Leave a Reply

