Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Grace I don’t deserve. . .

Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about the gospel lately and how when I got saved it was because the Holy Spirit broke my heart over my sin after I tried to obey God with no success.  I finally gave up trying and called on the Lord to forgive me, make me obedient and help me serve Him with my whole life.  One minute I was in an agony and the next I had indescribable peace, and God has been with me ever since. 

This song was originally written by John Newton, the man who wrote Amazing Grace.  Bob Kauflin, one of my favorite modern hymn writers, has given it a new tune and some additional lyrics. 

The Look

I saw one hanging on a tree in agony and blood

Who fixed His loving eyes on me as near His cross I stood

And never till my dying breath will I forget that look

It seemed to charge me with His death

Though not a word He spoke

 

My conscience felt and owned the guilt and plunged me in despair

I saw my sins His blood had spilt and helped to nail Him there

But with a second look He said, “I freely all forgive.  This blood is for your ransom

paid–I died that you might live”

 

CH: Forever etched upon my mind is the look of Him who died

The Lamb I crucified

And now my life will sing the praise of pure atoning grace

that looked on me and gladly took my place

 

Thus while His death my sin displays for all the world to see

Such is the mystery of grace–it seals my pardon too

With pleasing grief and mournful joy my spirit now is filled

That I should such a life destroy–yet live by Him I killed

 

CH:

 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

