Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Music

1 Comment

I think in music–it’s how I think, pray, and instruct the children best.  Rob once told me, “I feel like I am living in a musical.”  I can’t talk to save my life.  I wish I could, but I am definitely a Moses type:)  That’s why I write and sing so much–my brain seems to work better when I am doing those two things.  Sometimes I sing my blog posts. I always sing my journal entries.  Seriously.  You can laugh if you want to. 

What I enjoy more than anything is singing with others, combining voices, harmonizing–working together to create something beautiful in honor of the Lord.  I have missed that lately.  But God is teaching me to be faithful in the little things so I’ve been singing my heart out for my children.  They love to sing too, and are learning to stay on the melody when I drift off into a harmony.  It’s been fun to see their love of music grow.  Often I hear Sarah away by herself singing about obeying the Lord, obeying Mommy, obeying Daddy. . .

Music is such a strong force in our lives with the potential to influence us for good or evil.  That’s why we sing the Bible, our prayers,  hymns and songs of thanksgiving, our sorrows, the truth that we need to hear so it goes quickly to our hearts. . .it is why we all are commanded to sing to the Lord, whether we consider ourselves musicians or not.

“Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God” Colossians 3:16.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Music

  1. I have never really been able to put into words, the way you just did, the way my heart sings for the Lord. I cannot remember names of songs or authors, but my heart can sing for hours of pure praise. I love driving in my car alone because it is a place where I can sing as loud as I want to and I can just sing my thoughts. Praise- pure and spontaneous!

Leave a Reply

