Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Lord have mercy on me a sinner

3 Comments

 

 

Confronted with the law of God

Written in the word,

In creation,

On my heart

 

I can try to measure up

Think I’ve given no offense

Work my way to heaven

Try to hide my sin

 

Or perhaps I’ll turn away

Loathe to bear my dreadful guilt

I’ll pretend I do not care

I’ll go deeper into sin

 

Either way I’m steeped in pride

I walk away from God above

I try to find the answers in myself

Which leads me to despair

 

Better far to voice the cry

That is welling up inside

Lord, have mercy on me a sinner

–Or I die

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “Lord have mercy on me a sinner

  1. Such a beautiful gift of writing from your heart! Thank you for sharing again! love ya bunches! Tammy

  2. This is great Cassie! I can so relate to this. What is it from?

  3. Hi Joy!

    I wrote this yesterday. The Lord has been teaching me about the gospel and really crystalizing it in my mind–I’ve been praying for understanding and boldness to be able to share it with others.

    I suppose it could apply to us as believers as well–since we are capable of walking in sin and pride–I am so thankful for the Lord’s mercy and grace, and the strength of the Holy Spirit to help us love and obey Him.

Leave a Reply

