Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

I am a Christ follower. . .

1 Comment

Speaking of our first day of school, my friend Gina just wrote a wonderful post about that, kind of. . .I heartily recommend her blog anyway, but this was an especially good post about being known as a Christ follower rather than as a cause follower. . .

I’ve been thinking about these same things lately and have chosen as my life verses Philippians 3:8-16.  Paul wrote that all that was gain to him he has counted as loss so that he may KNOW CHRIST, not having a righteousness of his own (through all the good things he did) but having the righteousness that comes through faith in Christ. . .he goes on to say that he has not already attained perfect knowledge of Christ or obedience to Him, but that he presses on in the pursuit of Christ and puts past things behind him, always moving towards Christ and the calling that God has given him. . .Paul says that though we have not already been perfected we should walk in obedience in the things God has already taught us and trust that God will reveal anything in our lives that does not line up with His ways. . .then he tells us to be of the same mind, meaning that we should all pursue Christ rather than that we should all agree on every issue.

These verses encourage me to follow the Lord, know Him, obey Him to the extent that I have been taught by Him, and also love my brothers and sisters and allow GOD to teach them, in His perfect timing.  This frees me from “needing” to beat people over the head to make them see things my way, and allows me the opportunity to joyfully and lovingly live a life of example of obedience to Christ, imperfect though it is.  It keeps my eyes on Jesus instead of on myself in self-righteousness or in judgment of others (I’m talking convictions here, not sin, or different versions of the gospel–it is sin to steal, I can judge that no problem, and there is only one way to be saved–those are not negotiable).  It also allows me to learn from the godly example of others who may have different convictions than I do in certain areas, and enjoy their fellowship as we seek after the Lord together. 

Enjoy Gina’s post.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “I am a Christ follower. . .

  1. Thank you for sharing those words and Gina’s post was great as well. I have been on both sides of the fence post. I have been the one who was discouraged because it made me feel I was a failure if God had not called or allowed me to do the same as others. I also know that I may have been on the other side as well. This is something God has been dealing with me and showing me how dangerous it can become. If I am not careful in my following Christ and take my eyes off of Him, how easy it is to place those eyes on myself and my understanding of things, and lose sight of His direction and start trying to take His place. That is hard for me to type but I have been humbled in this area and although it has hurt, I am thankful for His chastening my heart!

Leave a Reply

