Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Looking for my true home

1 Comment

During family worship tonight, I was telling God how tired I am, how much I need His wisdom and how my mind and body groans along with creation and longs for the day when I will see Him face to face and be perfected: no more lack of wisdom, no more struggle against sin, energy. . .I had a good day, but at the same time I sensed the constant struggle to obey the Lord in every area of my life as I serve my family, etc.  God reminded me that this struggle, while not necessarily enjoyable, is good because it forces me to depend on His strength, wisdom and grace just to get through each day. 

After the children went to bed I was able to do a little reading.  This quote jumped out at me because it expressed what my heart had been feeling earlier:

“The regenerate man loves God, loves holiness, loves the Bible, loves the godly, because it is his nature to do so.  He now delights in the law of God written on his heart, and looks to heaven as the world where he will love with all his being.  While the difference between this person and the temporary convert (parable of the sower) may not immediately appear, it is profound.  Of the latter, Joseph Alleine wrote: ‘When they have as much as will save them, as they suppose, they look no further, and so show themselves to be short of true grace, which always sets men aspiring to perfection (Philippians 3:13; Proverbs 4:18).'”  Iain Murray

And this quote from J.C. Ryle seems to fit with Iain Murray’s so I repost it here:

“Sanctification does not prevent a man from having a great deal of inward spiritual conflict.  By conflict I mean a struggle within the heart between the flesh and the Spirit, which are to be found together in every believer.  A deep sense of that struggle, and a vast amount of healthy discomfort from it, are no proof that a man is not sanctified.  Nay, rather, I believe, they are healthy symptoms of our condition and prove we are not dead, but alive.  A true Christian is one who has not only peace of conscience, but war within.  He may be known by his warfare as well as by his peace.”  J.C. Ryle

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Looking for my true home

  1. Sis, you don’t know how much those words meant to me!!!!!! Thank you for sharing them! I love you!

Leave a Reply

