Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Dehydration, minerals, fluoride and water

6 Comments

I’ve been researching the body’s need for water and recently recommended www.watercure.com.  Dr. B says we should drink a minimum of 2 quarts of water a day and that we should add 1/4 tsp of unrefined sea salt to our diet for each quart of water we drink.  He says it is impossible to be hydrated without the sodium, which is true–we have to have the proper balance of Sodium and Potassium in order for our cells to become hydrated.

The average person who doesn’t eat a lot of whole grains probably can get away with 2 quarts (8-10 cups) of water, but I tend to need about 4 quarts because I only eat whole grains, I live in Florida and I exercise.  Dr. B also says we should drink a glass of water before we start eating in order for our bodies to properly digest the food. 

According to Dr. B, chronic dehydration can cause asthma, arthritis, migraines, hypertension, allergies, and even autoimmune disorders.  Check out his website and books for more info on this (above).  It is interesting that he recommends the use of salt when the mainstream medical community says to cut back on salt.  They say salt causes hypertension.  Actually dehydration causes hypertension. 

The way it works is that most of us eat a highly refined and processed diet which lacks potassium and is high in added sodium.  In order for our cells to be hydrated we must have a balance of 2 (or more) parts potassium-1 part sodium.  Potassium works on the inside of cells while sodium works on the outside.  If you have too much Sodium and lack Potassium you will not be properly hydrated even if you drink a lot of water.  You will retain water, your blood pressure will go up, you will get a headache, you could cause chronic diseases like hypertension, etc.  (The rangers at Mt. Zion National Park recommend drinking orange juice and eating something salty like organic tortilla chips with sea salt when outside hiking and sweating.  This gives you more Potassium than Sodium and helps replace lost electrolytes.  Whenever Rob is outside working and has a headache he drinks a lot of water but sometimes he can’t get rid of the dehydration headache.  I then give him some sea salt for his water plus orange juice and the headache goes away within minutes.  But if we skip the juice the headache doesn’t go away.)  Doctors recommended reduced salt intake because the Sodium/Potassium balance is lost when we eat the modern processed diet–we lack Potassium and this leads to hypertension.  Some pharmaceutical drugs (and see here) also lead to a loss of potassium.  Potassium helps regulate blood pressure and heart muscle action. 

What we all need is to eat a whole foods diet.  Natural fruits, vegetables, grains, fish, chicken and other meats all contain a lot of potassium, but not so much sodium (less than 1/2 the amount of potassium usually).  We should drink enough water to stay hydrated–this will vary depending on how much fiber you eat, the type of work or exercise you do, etc.  Your goal is very pale urine.  Add about 1/4 tsp sea salt per quart of water (you don’t have to drink it, you could add it to your food throughout the day or just put it on your tongue).   You have to add salt because natural foods do not contain enough to replace lost electrolytes.  If you are putting a lot in your cooking you may not need extra.  If you start feeling bloated, swollen or get a headache you need to add more potassium and water and cut back on the salt.  Staying hydrated keeps your cells healthy and able to receive nutrients, carries nutrients to all parts of your body and keeps your body funtioning well.  Your efforts at eating nutrient dense foods will pay off.  Many of our society’s chronic diseases are caused by dehydration, but it is not enough just to drink more water.  We need this whole picture of water, minerals and vitamins.  Even exercise plays a role in staying hydrated.

There is of course more that goes on in our bodies when we do or don’t get enough water, but you get the idea.  Drinking clean water and eating a whole foods diet allows us to get all of the nutrients we need in the proper balance.  It is amazing how interdependent they all are. 

Those of us who try to be healthy usually drink a ton of water and eat fresh produce regularly.  Unfortunately, our water supply and conventional produce and even milk and meats have been poisoned with Fluoride.  Many medicines also contain high amounts of Fluoride.  Fluoride causes an impressive amount of damage to our bodies–I am living proof of that! Read my other Fluoride poisoning posts for more info and helpful links.  Rob is reading a book called “The Fluoride Deception” by Christopher Bryson and he says it is very well-written and easy to understand.  The reason I bring this up here is that one of the effects of fluoride is chronic dehydration.  Many of my reactions to fluoride were the same as the feeling you get when you are severely dehydrated–I would drink water to feel better and end up feeling worse than before I drank the water.  I can only drink distilled water  because other filtration systems cannot remove Fluoride.  I add minerals back to my water using sea salt–I also use it in my cooking, so I am still experimenting with how much extra salt I really need.  Too much depletes the potassium in your body so you have to be careful not to over do the salt. 

My theory is that fluoride caused chronic dehydration in my body which led to the autoimmune problems I am now having. . .I am still researching it, but I have hope that if I can continue to detox the fluoride my health problems will be reversed. 

I detox slowly by eating and drinking chemical free food, avoiding foods that naturally have fluoride, drinking lots of water, taking milk thistle, exercising. . .this is much healthier than expensive colon cleansing kits (what your colon needs is water), quacky footbaths, extended fasts, etc.  Most of those things are designed to make someone a lot of money, and often at the expense of people’s health or at least their checkbook. 

Please don’t fall for false claims.  Do the research before trying something.  One thing I came across recently was a salt-water detox.  This has you drink 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt disolved in 1 quart of water every morning for a 3-10 days.  This is supposed to clean you out quickly, and a sign of toxins coming out is headache, fatigue, and worse.  This is NOT healthy!  That is a lot of salt with not much water and unless you drink a ton of water you will become severely dehydrated.  The headache will be a sign of an imbalance in your body, not of toxins coming out.  The claim is that you will have more energy and feel great when you are done–of course, getting rehydrated would feel wonderful after that torture!  Salt + water does have a gentle detoxing affect, but it all needs to be kept in balance or you will get sick or even die.

I had to give up sea salt for a while when I was still taking in fluoride.  I now realize that it was because the fluoride deydrated me so much that when I ate salt it added to the dehydration problem, because I was not getting the pure water my body needed to stay hydrated.  A few months after I started avoiding Fluoride I was able to add sea salt with no problems.  Before that I used kosher salt and that didn’t bother me.  I am not sure if it was because of the iodine in the sea salt or not. . .

I thought I might have rheumatoid arthritis, diabetes, and other problems when I was still eating/drinking fluoride was because I not only had the usual dehydration symtoms of headache, bloating, fast heart beat and high blood pressure, but I also had intense pain in my joints, chronic fatigue and on and on.  My gallbladder was extremely painful–but I still have it as I refuse to give up internal organs if I can help it (milk thistle was my friend during flare-ups).  All of those things are caused by severe dehydration but I didn’t know it at the time.  I have always been a water advocate, but the fluoride interfered with my efforts to be healthy.  It was a very confusing time and I am thankful that God has been giving me answers.  I feel for others going through this and I know there are many, because I get lots of people on my blog everyday looking for fluoride info.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

6 thoughts on “Dehydration, minerals, fluoride and water

  1. This is really helpful, Cassie. After you recommended Dr. B. the first time, I spent some time wandering around his site and reading some of the interview, too. I’ve been trying to drink more water for a while now, but I’m still not drinking enough. How do you drink enough each day?

  2. I struggle with this too, actually. I think the Synthroid makes it a harder to stay hydrated, but don’t know for sure. I am still trying to figure out the right balance of sodium and potassium for me. Yesterday we were out all day and I was drinking the water and salt while we were out but I didn’t get enough fruit and I ended up feeling terrible. I finally figured out the problem and drank a mineral supplement that has potassium in it and felt better after a few minutes–bloating, headache, swelling, chest pains, fatigue and fuzzy thinking all went away. I don’t normally take the supplement because I try to get the nutrients I need from my food, but I couldn’t function well right then.

    I drink a glass of water when I wake up, more with breakfast and throughout the day before and during meals. I’ve been filling up quart-sized jars with water and salt and filling my glass from that. It makes it easy to count quarts.

    Above all, watch the color of your urine. If it is yellow or orange you need more water.

    • Cassie, see my comment on gluten – it’s a huge trigger for thyroid problems as well! Several folks in our GIG (Gluten Intolerance Group) have thyroid problems –

  3. Great overview! I found your blog searching for connections between fluoride & dehydration –
    I have friends on a well in the country bring me water for drinking & cooking, to avoid the fluoride.

    I noticed your reference to eating lots of whole grains,(which I’ve done for years as well) but not to being gluten free – & then to your autoimmune problems – have you looked into the Gluten connections??
    I was quite intrigued that dehydration is the FIRST symptom mentioned in this article! http://glutenfreeworks.com/blog/2009/11/04/celiac-disease-alert-six-ways-gluten-can-kill-you/
    “Extreme damage to the intestinal lining can lead to death through dehydration. In this case, the lining that is supposed to hold water in your body no longer functions. The gut actually pulls water from your body. ”

    We went Gluten Free 2 1/2 years ago, when my daughter’s best friend was told by an ND that her infertility might be linked to Gluten! As she did her research, she realized many of our family’s problems (Anxiety, mild seizure disorder, migraines, skin problems, learning disability) could be linked as well! My granddaughters were 44 & 9 at the time, & we have all improved in many ways since we went GF! I have more energy, better memory, little seasonal ‘stuffiness,’ etc.

    A connection between gluten & autoimmune diseases is classic, & many folks find improvement from avoiding ‘BROWN’ (Barley, Rye, Oats (occ. gluten free oats OK for some), & Wheat – Never-ever!) My favoirite ‘grains’ are actually seeds, amaranth & quinoa. & I adore coconut.
    I have a number of GF recipes & thoughts on Nutrition on my blog (some G in ones prior to summer 2009!)

  4. Blushing!
    I scrolled up to the top of the page after posting & saw the GF recipes link!! Of course!!

  5. I started becoming ill in 2010, 1st visit to the ER was for dehydration, and the 2nd visit was due to overhydration. I’ve lost my job due to chronic illness and repeated hospital visits over a 2year period. In June 2012 I was finally diagnosed with UTI/Sepsis.
    But this wasn’t the end of my problems. My boyfriend and I discovered there was flouride in our water supply. I’m guessing this is why I’m still ill. I can no longer afford to see any doctors since I’ve lost everything. But I’m taking Kelp for iodine replacement, Calcium/magnesium, Milk thistle, and Coconut oil. I only drink distilled water or V8. I know my thyroid is messed up cuz I have very low body temps sometimes. And I can’t seem to lose any weight no matter how hard I exercise. (I gained from illness.)
    I really have improved lately but I have to stay clear of anything with flouride in it. Like coffee, tea, soda and certain foods. If I don’t the sickness sets in.
    Before 2010 I NEVER had any health issues. I believe they started when I moved to a different town in 2010 and drank their toxic flouride water. Its ruined my life.
    All I have is my debt and my boyfriend now. And everyday hoping I’ll get better and live life again. I wish there was a magic pill. I’d give anything to be ME again.

Leave a Reply

