Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

God loves people

3 Comments

I was looking at a friend’s photos and saw a picture of her brother.  I know this man to be rebellious, a drug addict, and that he abandoned his children.  My initial response was one of disgust, but as soon as that feeling came it was replaced by a sense of love for him and a desire to pray for him that overwhelmed me.  God overruled my flesh and poured out the love He has for this man into my heart!  It was so incredible.  It was like the Lord gently rebuked me and then said, “Here, let me tell you how much I love this man.  I died for him and he is not beyond the reach of my mercy.”  Except He didn’t say it in words so much as He just impressed it on my heart very suddenly, and I understood.  He then poured out of my mouth a prayer that bolstered my faith in God’s ability to save this man whom God loves. 

God is amazing!  I guess when you ask Him to make you love what He loves, He answers!  God loves people.  That’s why Jesus died.  Who am I to decide someone is too bad to receive God’s love????  I am no better than this man.  I need God’s grace no less than he.  Lord, help me to love as You love.  Increase my faith in your ability to save.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “God loves people

  1. If you’re thinking of who I’m thinking of, at the beginning of the album, she mentioned that he’s been clean for two years. A step in the right direction, and something only accomplished through the power of God. Will join with you in praying for him.

  2. Very well said sis! Amen! I was reminded in Galations about Paul, a man who hated Christians, someone who others would not have ever believed would become the man he did in service for Christ. In 2:20 he says, ” I have been crucified with Christ, it is no longer I who live but Christ lives in me, and the life that I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” God did that for me too! A wretch like me! May we always look beyond the sin and see the cross of Jesus that calls out to the lowliest of sinners to come and be cleansed and made new! Thank you for sharing sis! Love, Tammy

  3. I saw your comment about that, Steph, in the album. The thing is my flesh is so wicked that I want to judge and condemn anyway. I am so thankful that God is greater than my flesh, and also for His obvious work already in this man’s life, and that one day we will rejoice over his salvation!

Leave a Reply

