Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Investing in Eternity Pt. 1

1 Comment

I’ve been thinking a lot about eternity.  God has been impressing me with the value of investing in eternity–how I spend my time now affects what my life will be like in eternity.  It’s a wild thought!  My prayer is that the Lord will not allow me to miss out on any of the good works and their rewards that He has prepared for me.  I don’t want to waste a single moment.

What are the good works He has called us to? It is easy to lose sight of what they really are.

First and most important is for us to love the Lord with our whole heart, soul, mind and strength and seek His face and presence.  David said that he would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of God than have a great name among the wicked.  He devoted his life to “gazing on the beauty of the Lord.”  God invited him to seek His face, and David responded, “Your face, Lord do I seek.” I  eagerly await Jesus’ return to earth, because then I will see Him face to face.  During the waiting time, I should be consumed with learning more about Him and knowing Him intimately.  I will miss many blessings in eternity if I devote my life to the passing pleasures of this life.  Jesus will be my focus then and He should be my greatest desire now.

This takes time.  It means saying no to some of the good things that could take up our time.  It means sitting at the Lord’s feet and listening to Him in His word and in prayer and allowing the Spirit to give us  revelation in the knowledge of Jesus.  When Jesus visited Mary and Martha, Mary chose to sit and listen to Him (the good portion), and Jesus said it would not be taken from her.  Martha was worried with many cares and much serving–but Jesus told her that one thing was needful, and it was what her sister Mary had chosen.

The other day one of my children did something to “help” me without asking me if it was what I needed done–it wasn’t.  We use a phrase in our home for times like this, “Ask before you do.”  We talked about it for a while and then I was reminded by the Holy Spirit that I often do things for the Lord without asking Him if He wants me to.  Or I come to Him and say, “Will you let me do this thing for You?  I would love to do that!”  Slowly, I am learning to sit and listen to Him.  I pray for Him to put His burdens on my heart; to make me love what He loves and hate what He hates.  He communicates these things through His Spirit and His word–the two work together.  Usually what He tells me to do with these burdens is to pray–to acknowledge my weakness and inability to solve the problem, and ask Him to do the work.  Sometimes He gives me a word to speak or something to do, but these flow out of prayer and a dependent heart attitude.  This is the way we should do all our works.  This is how we store up treasures in heaven.  Jesus is our treasure.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Investing in Eternity Pt. 1

  1. Thank you sis for sharing those words from your heart and from the word. Last night in waking up at 3 am, I could have easily gone and layed on the couch and watched t.v. and probably fallen back to sleep but my Lord and Savior drew me to Himself in prayer and His precious word. That was proof of His work in me, and my hearts desire is to be more like Him. When I think of what I could have lost last night if I had chosen to watch t.v., I am so thankful I chose to be with my Abba Father!

Leave a Reply

