Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Treasures in Heaven: Investing in Eternity pt 3

Leave a comment

I had a dream last night that Rob and I were at our hotel in Oregon (where we hope to take a trip this summer). We were getting ready to go out exploring somewhere. I grabbed by purse and pulled out several rings: my engagement ring and wedding band, a sapphire ring, an emerald ring, and a very ornate diamond ring worth a lot of money. The diamonds were in three rows in an upside down v shape and the emerald had a lot of fancy gold around the stone. In the dream I was worried that if I left the extra ones in the hotel they would be stolen, so I put them all on my hands and they seemed cumbersome and in the way–I remember trying to figure out what I should do. I ended up staying in the hotel room, because I didn’t like wearing all the rings–it was annoying, they were heavy, and someone might see them and steal them. I couldn’t go anywhere because they meant too much to me and I refused to leave them behind.

At the time I was dreaming I thought, “I am so glad I don’t have all that jewelry! I’d better leave anything valuable I don’t need at home.”

When I woke this morning I had totally forgotten the dream. But when I was praying during my quiet time the Lord brought the dream to my mind with an understanding of what it meant: Excessive earthly possessions are cumbersome; they weigh us down and keep us from doing what we are supposed to do; they bring us many worries and concerns instead of freedom. Letting go of possessions brings freedom to go and serve in any place and in any way the Lord leads.

Matthew 6: tells us to lay up treasures in heaven, rather than on earth where moth and rust destroy and thieves break in and steal; and to trust the Lord and not worry about our life, or what we shall eat or drink or put on. We are to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and He will provide all our needs for us as we need them.

Lately, themes from Luke 12: have been revolving in my brain–I have been praying a lot about what these verses mean for my family. I know the Lord will show Rob the specifics. I always thought the command to “sell all you possess and give to the poor” was given only to the rich young ruler, but it is given in Luke 12: to everyone after Jesus tells the parable of the rich fool, “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with money bags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” The whole chapter is really thought-provoking, but this one thing is standing out to me right now.

I do not know what God is leading us to do specifically, but it seems that whatever it is will require us to let go of a lot that means much to us so that we can be available to go and do whatever it is–whether it is possessions or ideals–and will require a level of trust we’ve not yet been required to give. The Lord has been preparing us for this for a very long time and  I know He will further equip us.  His grace is sufficient!

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

