Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Knowing You, Jesus

Leave a comment

This morning I  read Mark 5 during my quiet time.  I usually try to pray through the scripture I am reading but my heart and mind felt dull, asleep, unhearing and unseeing–I almost gave up the prayer idea after reading it once through.  But I waited and after a few minutes the Lord started speaking to me through the passage and I had much to pray about.

_____

Lord, I am here to meet with You.  But my mind is still asleep.  My heart is dull and I am not hearing or seeing a thing.  Maybe I should just go, and get on with my day.  This feels like a lot of work.  I don’t know if it is worth it.

Or maybe I’ll wait for just a minute or two.  Please speak to me.  Open the eyes of my heart and let me see You.  I want to know You more.

_____

I waited and now I find You are able to break through to the dullest mind in the driest moment.  When I wait here for You, with Your word before me, You come and make my eyes see and my ears hear.

_____

Now that I am going about the work of my day my spirit is alive with hearing and seeing.  Your Spirit is still speaking to me, and I will carry on this conversation with You the rest of the day–all because I waited, and You came to fellowship with me.

I can’t wait to meet with You again.  I love to hear Your voice and see Your face:

I love You, Lord.

You cast the demons out.  You give a sound mind.  You clothe us with peace when before we were out of our minds.

You have authority to command even the unclean things.  You are greater than legions of demons.  What have I to fear if I am Yours?

You healed the woman, when she reached out to touch Your robe.  Your power is greater than I know, and You love to reward faith–without faith it is impossible to please You.

You raised Jairus’ daughter.  You took her by the hand and spoke the healing words as a command.  You have authority over life and death.  You told her father: Do not fear–only believe.

My faith is small; much smaller than a mustard seed.  I believe.  Please help my unbelief.

I want to meet You in the every day–I want to find You in the most unlikely places–I want to see Your hand at work where I least expect it–increase my faith–give me eyes to see You for who You really are.

On the water, when You stopped the storm, You said, “Peace!  Be still!”  And the wind stopped blowing and there was a great calm.  Then You asked Your disciples, “Why are you so afraid?  Have you still no faith?”  Their hearts were filled with fear and they asked among themselves, “Who then is this, that even wind and sea obey Him?” They did not know who You were and so they had no faith.

Knowing You leads to an increasing faith, so I will come every chance I get to seek Your face.  Teach me Your ways.  Show me what You think and what You feel.  I want to know what You love and what You hate.  I want to know how exceedingly powerful You are.  I want to hear the words of love You speak to me when I draw near.  I want to see Your glory and goodness.

Give to me a spirit of wisdom and revelation in the KNOWLEDGE of YOU.  Open the eyes of my heart and show me the hope you’ve called me to; show me the riches of Your inheritance in the saints (in me!); and show me the exceeding greatness of Your power toward those who believe.  I believe in what I know of You but there is more to know. . . .

Strengthen my spirit to understand what is the height, the depth, the width, the length of the love of Christ, which passes knowledge–I want to be filled with all the fullness of God.  I want to grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus my Savior.  You are able to do exceedingly, abundantly above and beyond all I could ever ask or think–for Your glory forever.

I want to know You more.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

