Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

I must die. . .

Leave a comment

The other morning I was angry at my husband. I apologized to him and after he left for work I sang this to myself, trying to correct my thinking:

You must die
You must deny
You must say, “No” to yourself
You are not the center of it all

When I wrote this in my journal I added these thoughts:

There is only One in the center of it all
And He gave up His glory
He came to serve
He laid down His life
He said, “No” to Himself and “Yes” to His Father

He did not demand His own way
He never reviled in return for evil
He was like a lamb before the shearers
He was not caught up in claiming His rights as the Creator of the universe

We are called to follow in His steps so
We must die
We must deny
We must say, “No” to ourselves
Give ourselves for Jesus, the center of it all

I want to be like Jesus
And one day I will reign with Him in glory
But I must die
I must deny
I must say, “No” to myself
_____________
“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.” Jim Elliot

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

