Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

The Little Things

Leave a comment

The girls usually take turns asking to sit next to me at lunch or snack time instead of in their assigned seat.  Friday I told Sarah she could sit with me, but I have a tendancy to serve everyone’s food, clean up around the kitchen and do any other work I think needs done.  By the time I sat down Sarah was finished with her food.  I still had to serve them their fruit so I made a point of sitting down with her while she ate that.  I told her I was sorry, and made a mental note to myself to sit down when my children are eating and clean up after.

Saturday, it was Laura’s turn to sit with me and I ignored my urge to clean and sat down.  When I did, Laura said, “Thank you for sitting down, Mommy.”  I gave her a big hug.  Later she got to sit with me again and when I sat down she said, “Thank you for sitting with me, Mommy.  I told you that twice today!”  🙂  Made me smile.

So, I guess the moral is: your children notice when you do the things that seem little to you.  They would rather have you eat with them than you clean the kitchen while they eat.  And hey, if you wait, they can help you clean the kitchen after.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

