Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Slow Down

3 Comments

The relative silence on this blog reflects the busy season I am in and my struggle to maintain intimacy with the Lord in that busyness. As my energy has increased after the miscarriage and D&C my prayer has been that the Lord will renew my desire to meet with Him daily. I am able to get up earlier again, and He has been inviting me to use that time to sit with Him. I am not where I was or want to be, but He is drawing me. I have missed Him. It isn’t that He hasn’t been with me or that we never talk, but I miss the close communion. And when I am not staying close to Him I really have nothing to say here, there or anywhere!

I have recovered quickly from the miscarriage and D&C. But right after I had surgery, Rob’s mom was admitted to the hospital with blood clots. She is now in rehab and will be coming home on Thursday. There has been much activity related to her situation that has added to our already full schedule. And I’ve gotten back into full gear preparing foods we can eat, homeschooling, etc. And now we are preparing for a three week vacation–part of it will be with the children and my parents and another will be just Rob and me visiting friends and then going to Oregon for an anniversary trip. We are SO excited, but there is a lot to be done to get ready for that and for Rob’s mom to come home. We are thankful for the many friends who will be helping care for her while we are gone, and also for the home health folks who will be keeping an eye on her. We are glad she’ll finally be getting the help she needs at home.

God’s presence and care have been evident through all of these things. And in it all I’ve heard Him say, “Don’t lose sight of Me. Don’t just get busy again. Remember that you need My Spirit like you need the air you breathe and the water you drink.” As I have slowed down to meet with Him He has given me what I’ve needed to DO what He’s called me to do.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “Slow Down

  1. Aww, Cassie, I FEEL YOU! I’m so glad you are getting away with just your husband! You will miss your children terribly, but I’m sure they will have plenty to entertain them while you are away! We will pray for a peaceful time away, restful and sweet! May God renew your strength and the strength of your marriage also!

  2. You encourage me, a very timely blog post. 🙂

  3. I completely understand how you have been feeling and I too in all the business felt God drawing me to Himself , to stop and spend time with Him and rest in Him. I was putting some things away the other day and found a book I had read a couple of years ago. It is called The Attributes of God, I felt like stopping and looking at it again and before I knew it I was through the first chapter and I am going to read it all again. It has been a great refreshment and boost for me being reminded in God’s word again of His great attributes and just what a truly amazing God we serve. I love you so much Cassie! Tammy

Leave a Reply

