Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Family Update

1 Comment

It has been a while since I’ve written anything about our family happenings.  The short version is that God has us on a wild adventure.  Sometimes we feel like Abraham: Knowing God is telling us to go here and there and do this and that, but only seeing the path right before our feet.  We know He is good and that His purposes are good, even though oftentimes we have to go through difficult things.

We are thankful that Rob has a good job.  In this economy, not everyone can say this, and we have friends unable to find a job.

We are thankful for the many wonderful brothers and sisters in Christ God has put in our life.

We are celebrating Christopher’s 8th birthday today.  It is hard to believe he’s that old already.  Time rushes on–birthdays are a good reminder to make the most of the time God gives us.

I have had a recurrence of my chemical sensitivities.  They’ve never fully gone away, but God took them to a point that made it possible for me to go to church and to the store and to some friends’ homes.  But our church recently got into its remodeled new home, and after a couple of weeks of being there several hours a week the carpet chemicals  and people’s perfumes started to wear me down again.  Rob even started getting headaches.  Additionally, the city where we live dumped an extra amount of chlorine into the water and I can hardly even stand to be in our house.  Every time someone turns the water on I start to feel horrible–and that is with charcoal filters on the water lines and the showers.

The Lord has led us to leave our church [building] and has told us to stay home on Sundays for now.  We are still connected to our church family and I am still able to go to the ladies’ tea and Bible study.  And He has provided some friends in the Lord to come meet in our home every Sunday afternoon and evening for fellowship in the Lord and seeking Him together.  Some of them are from our church, others are friends from other churches.  If you are local, and you’d like to come to our house at 2pm on Sundays you are more than welcome.  I only ask that you have no perfumes on.  Fabric softener is a problem, along with perfumed lotions, etc.  I hate to have to say that, but that is just the way it is.  We also plan to eat dinner together and everyone can bring food to share.  Most everyone can eat anything, and I will just be fixing something I can eat–so no one has to worry about special diets.

So, that’s where we are at.  God has led us here.  It’s an interesting journey!

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Family Update

  1. HI. so sorry you can’t be at church with us, but feeling better knowing that you are meeting in your house. I noticed that I get a headache if I am at the church for very long also. Of course my allergies are not as bad as yours by any means. Does all cleaners bother you? Is there anyway we can find one to clean the carpets? I have had a lot less problem since we took ours out of the living and dining room and put in lament wood flooring.
    take care and call if I can do anything for you. Love in Christ, your sister donna

Leave a Reply

