Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Sprouted Seed Bars

1 Comment

The seed bars and sprouted seed/fruit/nut bars that are all the rage these days are really easy to make.   This apple cinnamon version is my first attempt to recreate them but you can use your imagination and come up with all kinds of flavors and ingredients that suit you and your family.  Most of my family cannot eat nuts so we skip those.

When we were in Oregon I got some Lydia’s Organics bars and loved them. They are not readily available out east, and I was pretty sure I could make them a lot more cheaply anyway. The one I’ve done so far was an apple cinnamon version. I used my two Easy Sprouters to soak and sprout 1 c sunflower seeds, 1 c pumpkin seeds, 1 c buckwheat, 1 c quinoa. When that was done I made a gel with 3/4 c flaxseed and 1 1/2 c hot water and added that to the seeds along with 3/4 c agave nectar and 1 1/2 tsp salt. For apple cinnamon I added 1 tsp cinnamon and chopped apples (I forgot to write down how much maybe 2 large apples). When it is all mixed together you spread it on a buttered cookie sheet to the desired thickness and dry it at 150 degrees until it is dry enough to cut and separate into bars. I finished mine overnight in the dehydrator but you could also continue to use the oven at 150 degrees until done.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Sprouted Seed Bars

  1. I know it sure did smell good in the house when I was there! 🙂
    Love you sis!

Leave a Reply

