Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

She’s Having Another One???

3 Comments

I was in the grocery store yesterday and the checkout lady, whom we talk to often, said, “Four is enough, isn’t it?” I said, “Well, actually, I am pregnant and I’ve had 15 miscarriages and I would love to have more children.” She was pretty shocked. A friend was standing behind me in line and after I left the checker said to my friend, “She’s pregnant.” My friend had not heard that news yet and so she got this really excited look on her face and the checker was really surprised by that. My friend said, “That’s great! They’ve been trying to have another one for a long time.” Then the bagger, who had counted them all and told me I had a handful said, “What? She’s having another one???” I saw my friend again a few minutes later at our produce pick-up and she double checked that I was really pregnant and then told me what happened. She was so excited and told me she would be praying for me.

Regardless of the outcome I am going to keep seeking the Lord and finding my joy in Him. I read something by Lillias Trotter the other day. She said, “A faith that has to deny facts is not really faith.” I am trying to enjoy this time. I have looked the “facts” full in the face and decided that God is able to overcome them, and even if He does not I will not give in to fear or worry and I will continue to praise Him. Should He choose to allow this baby to become part of our family we will be very thankful!

The checkout lady also told me that my children were always smiling (if only that were really true) and asked me how I got them to be that way. “You don’t beat them, do you?” “Well, I do discipline them when they need it, but I don’t beat them up.” She said, “But they probably don’t ever do anything wrong, do they?” What world does she live in???

Neither I nor my children are perfect, but by the grace of God we are trying to walk in faith, love and obedience. It doesn’t come naturally to any of us and especially not children! However, when our children learn to obey and know they have to take their parents’ seriously, they tend to be much happier than other children. Obviously, you have to deal with heart attitudes as well as behavior or you will end up with obedient children who are angry on the inside. This takes a lot of training, talking, praying, loving and, yes, discipline. Our family hasn’t arrived in this area either. But I hope that the Lord will use us where we are to be a light to people in the store, friends, neighbors and others we meet along the way.

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

3 thoughts on “She’s Having Another One???

  1. Ah, the thinking of the world we live in. Sad, isn’t it? Praising God w/you and praying for a healthy baby! 🙂
    Love you

  2. What is so beautiful about this is that they are noticing you and the children and seeing a difference in you. That is the miracle of having Christ in you! Oh, that they may see God and know him fully!!!
    I continue to marvel at how God chooses to use broken vessels. God bless you and the the child within you. May you both grow stronger each day!
    I love you sister and your words of encouragement.
    Laura

  3. I’m not sure if you remember me (attended CrossWay with you years ago… I had two boys at the time), but I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. I just wanted you to know what an encouragement you’ve been to me and let you know that I’m praying for you and your precious little one. Thank you for the example to put the Lord first in our everyday lives. May He bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

