Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

To Be More Present

1 Comment

One of my prayers lately has been that the Lord will help me to be more “present” to my children.  We homeschool and spend most of our waking hours together, but though we are together most of the time I am not always “present”.  Humanly speaking, I cannot give them my full attention 24/7–my strength gives out  quickly.  When I get tired I find it difficult even to answer simple questions.  There are times though when I am simply distracted from them by unimportant things.

Since I started praying this I have noticed a difference in my ability to be more focused on helping them, talking with them, teaching them, listening to them, entering in to their fun. . .even when I am fighting through another day of fatigue.

The Lord reminded me that He “is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. . . .The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge” Psalm 46:1, 7.  He is not just in the same room with us, doing His own thing.  He is attentive to our every cry, every need, every thought, every Hallelujah and I love you, everything about us.  He loves us each as if we were the only person on earth and yet loves us all the same.  My Father has time for me and I am not a hindrance to Him.

I want to be like Him with my children, and so I will continue to pray and act as He gives me the strength–but I know I will not ever be as good at it as He is.  It makes me realize just how amazing and wonderful it is that God is an ever present  help in trouble; our God with us; the One who promises to never leave us or forsake us.

 

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “To Be More Present

  1. I can definitely relate to the “being present.” What a great contrast to God who promises to be our ever present help in trouble. I have read that verse before but your story just makes it that much clearer of a picture of our kind and gracious God. Thanks!
    ps-As a mom you might appreciate this link: It’s called the Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It’s got tips for all ages. I’ve found useful info for both my boys.

Leave a Reply

