Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Listening to God

1 Comment

My son and I were outside working in the garden. He was a little ways off. I called to him but he didn’t hear me, answer or come. I called again and still no response. A third time I said his name, much louder than before, and finally he heard me! He had been focused on something else and had not even heard the sound of my voice.

Sometimes it seems like God is not near or is not speaking to us. Could it be that we are so focused on the day to day tasks and distractions that we are not listening for His voice, while all the while He is calling our name and inviting us to draw near to Him? That seemed to be what He was saying to me through the experience with my son. I needed the reminder.

God doesn’t have favorites. He rewards those who diligently seek Him. Always when I draw near to God through His word and prayer He draws near to me and the fellowship is sweet. When I set aside time to sit with Him it seems that my ears stay tuned in to Him all day and the conversation carries into whatever tasks I need to accomplish. Why then do I sometimes go so long without listening to His voice?

I want to be like Samuel who said, “Speak Lord, Your servant is listening.”

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Listening to God

  1. Hi,

    I too am a homeschool mom and came across your journey with the Lord. My daughter has Chronic Fatigue syndrome and used to suffer from alot of the same symptoms of you. We have been using NAET, which works to eliminate the food, chemical and enviormental allergies and along with colonics. We have seen lots of improvement. I hope this will be helpful and please contact me privately if you need more information. You can go to their website, NAET.com for more information also. There is nothing for me to sell or profit from, I just know where you are because we have been there. I pray that this will be helpful.

Leave a Reply

