Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Heart Change

1 Comment

It has become evident to me over the years that when my health is low I am more likely to give in to temptation to sin–especially in how I treat my children. One could say the enemy tempts more strongly when he sees we are weakened, and there is truth to that. But I think the real problem is that we rely on our own strength to “be good” more than we realize. When the thin veneer of our strength is stripped away we are left with what has always been barely hidden in our hearts–sinful attitudes. The Lord allows times of weakness so that we can see how desperately we need Him, and, when He also exposes our sin during these times, He gives us the opportunity to repent and seek Him for genuine heart change–not just “cover up”.

Needless to say, I will not be winning the “Mother of the Year” award. But I am thankful for the mercy of the Lord, His rebuke and correction, His cleansing and His changing work in my heart. And I am thankful for the forgiveness of my children. The Lord is good to give us times of weakness. His grace is sufficient and our weakness is not an excuse for sin.

Blessings!

Cassie

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

One thought on “Heart Change

  1. Cassie,
    How true! God is so merciful and kind to wait for us to come clean! Bless your sensitive spirit!
    Love, Laura

Leave a Reply

