Sweet Like Honey

our family's journal of God at work

Holding on with Confidence

Leave a comment

During one of my baby’s feeding times in the early morning I was praying for a friend going through cancer treatment. Sometime in my prayer I said to the Lord something along the lines of “Lord, I believe, help my unbelief.” I have been through much with the Lord and I shouldn’t struggle with my faith because He has proven His faithfulness time and again, but the reality is that I am tempted to doubt just as much as anyone. When I woke up later in the morning the Lord reminded me of these passages in Hebrews and they encouraged me. The people Hebrews was written to had also suffered, and had faithfully endured, but at the time the letter was written they were being tempted to shrink back. So I am not alone in this temptation to shrink back, but I do not want to give in and I do not have to. The Lord is faithful! Let us keep pressing on in the Lord!

“Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, by the new and living way that He opened for us through the curtain, that is through His flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. . . .

Therefore do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised. For,

Yet a little while, and the coming one will come and will not delay, but My righteous one shall live by faith, and if he shrinks back, My soul has no pleasure in him.

But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who have faith and preserve their souls.

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation.

By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible. . . .And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who diligently seek Him.”
~Hebrews 10:19-25, 35-11:3, 6~

“But you, beloved, build yourselves up in your most holy faith; pray in the Holy Spirit; keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life. . . .Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of His glory with great joy, to the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time an dnow and forever. Amen.”

~Jude 20-21, 24-25~

Author: Cassie

Follower of Jesus, wife and mom to the most wonderful family I could ever ask for.

Leave a comment